Introduction

hkfws-logo_high.res-copy2

Hong Kong Family Welfare Society
About the Net Education and Counseling Services:

The net education and counseling services offered by Hong Kong Family Welfare Society (HKFWS) aim to address the problems that have arisen due to the increasing popularity of the internet. These include, for example, internet addiction, cyber bullying, the online generation gap, the spread of inappropriate content, and smartphone overuse. These problems harm not only the mental health of children and youth, but also family relationships. With a family perspective, we have taken a forward-looking approach, adopted creative work methods, and flexibly deployed resources. They have launched programs and events that respond to the needs of different social segments and remedy gaps in the services in society.

More
The services are grounded in empirical evidence, with research findings guiding the direction of services and intervention methods. Also, the program has introduced international research, such as U.S. author Kimberly Young’s authoritative survey on online addiction, to evaluate the severity of users’ online addiction. In response to the needs of different service groups, our fellow staff designed various innovative, multi-level intervention models, which include activities focused around education, prevention, and treatment. In order to find more professional and more suitable methods of intervention, we have been actively cooperating with different professionals (such as teachers and lawyers) to have in-depth discussions on internet issues. Furthermore, we have been actively encouraging the participation of service users and people who have gone through the experience to serve as volunteers, to exhibit a spirit of mutual support and to establish a harmonious and more acceptant society.
Service Objectives

1. Foster healthy and safe online attitudes and behaviors in children and youth;
2. Reduce conflicts between parents and children that are triggered by internet issues, and promote understanding and communication between parents and children regarding the internet;
3. Encourage the participation of people from all segments of society and special needs individuals;
4. Help the public recognize the online risks and advocate a healthy online culture.

More
From the time the service was established until now, we have received wide recognition from our service users and partners, as well as coverage from Hong Kong and foreign media (such as BBC from the UK). Our aim is to increase public awareness of the youth online culture while seeking to advocate social change, for example, by establishing a healthy online culture in schools, advocating for school policies with “zero tolerance” of cyber bullying, and encouraging healthy use of digital devices.

In order to further develop localized net education and counseling services, we have partnered with professionals across different industries in Hong Kong to seek more professional and effective intervention methods, so we are able to address the needs of society for responding to these emerging issues. In the past, we have served over one third of the schools and communities in Hong Kong, and many have directly benefited from our services.

簡介

hkfws-logo_high.res-copy2

香港家庭福利會
網絡教育及輔導服務簡介:

香港家庭福利會的網絡教育及輔導服務,主要針對互聯網普及所產生的新問題,如:沉迷上網、網絡欺凌、網絡代溝、不良資訊泛濫及過量使用智能手機等。這些問題不單影響兒童及青少年的精神健康,更對家庭關係造成負面影響。本會本著「以家為本」的理念,以前瞻性的角度,創新的工作手法,靈活地運用各種資源,在不同時段由不同的服務單位推出各項計劃及活動,以回應社會上不同人士的需求,彌補舊有服務的不足。

更多
服務基於實證為本的精神,以研究結果引導服務的方向及介入手法。另外,本計劃透過引進外國的研究,如翻譯美國權威學者Kimberly Young的上網成癮評估問卷,以評估服務使用者沉迷上網的嚴重性。因應不同服務組群的需要,同工設計各種創新及多層次的介入手法,包括教育性、預防性及治療性的活動。為了尋求更專業及更適當的介入方法,我們積極與不同的專業人士(如老師、律師)合作,深入探討網絡問題。此外,我們積極鼓勵服務使用者的參與及過來人作義工,發揮互助精神,從而建立和諧共融的社會。
服務宗旨

1. 培育兒童及青少年建立健康和安全的上網態度和習慣;
2. 減少因上網而引起的親子衝突,促進親子對上網的認識和溝通;
3. 鼓勵不同階層及有特殊需要的人士的參與;
4. 幫助公眾認識網絡危機及倡導健康網絡文化。

更多
服務成立至今除得到服務使用者及合作伙伴的認同,亦得到本地及外地傳媒的報導(如英國傳媒BBC)。我們著重提升社會各界對青少年網絡文化的關注,同時,我們希望倡導社會改變,包括在學校建立健康網絡文化,提倡對網絡欺凌「零容忍」校政、健康使用智能產品等。

為了更進一步發展本土化的網絡教育及輔導服務,我們與本港不同界別作跨專業協作,尋求更專業及有效的介入方法,以回應社會對網絡這個新問題的需要。過去本服務已為本港超過三份一學校及於各區提供服務,受惠人數眾多。