Hong Kong Family Welfare Society

About the Net Education and Counseling Services:

The net education and counseling services offered by Hong Kong Family Welfare Society (HKFWS) aim to address the problems that have arisen due to the increasing popularity of the internet. These include, for example, internet addiction, cyber bullying, the online generation gap, the spread of inappropriate content, and smartphone overuse. These problems harm not only the mental health of children and youth, but also family relationships. With a family perspective, we have taken a forward-looking approach, adopted creative work methods, and flexibly deployed resources. They have launched programs and events that respond to the needs of different social segments and remedy gaps in the services in society.
The services are grounded in empirical evidence, with research findings guiding the direction of services and intervention methods. Also, the program has introduced international research, such as U.S. author Kimberly Young’s authoritative survey on online addiction, to evaluate the severity of users’ online addiction. In response to the needs of different service groups, our fellow staff designed various innovative, multi-level intervention models, which include activities focused around education, prevention, and treatment. In order to find more professional and more suitable methods of intervention, we have been actively cooperating with different professionals (such as teachers and lawyers) to have in-depth discussions on internet issues. Furthermore, we have been actively encouraging the participation of service users and people who have gone through the experience to serve as volunteers, to exhibit a spirit of mutual support and to establish a harmonious and more acceptant society.

Service Objectives

1. Foster healthy and safe online attitudes and behaviors in children and youth;
2. Reduce conflicts between parents and children that are triggered by internet issues, and promote understanding and communication between parents and children regarding the internet;
3. Encourage the participation of people from all segments of society and special needs individuals;
4. Help the public recognize the online risks and advocate a healthy online culture.
 
From the time the service was established until now, we have received wide recognition from our service users and partners, as well as coverage from Hong Kong and foreign media (such as BBC from the UK). Our aim is to increase public awareness of the youth online culture while seeking to advocate social change, for example, by establishing a healthy online culture in schools, advocating for school policies with “zero tolerance” of cyber bullying, and encouraging healthy use of digital devices.

 

In order to further develop localized net education and counseling services, we have partnered with professionals across different industries in Hong Kong to seek more professional and effective intervention methods, so we are able to address the needs of society for responding to these emerging issues. In the past, we have served over one third of the schools and communities in Hong Kong, and many have directly benefited from our services.
 

Service Development History

  • Service start

    Service began in 2004 with the objective of preventing youth online problems and narrowing the gap between parents and children in the digital era.

  • “Research Report on the Impact of Youth Internet Use on Family Relationships and Mental Health.”

    In 2005, the HKFWS released a publication titled “Research Report on the Impact of Youth Internet Use on Family Relationships and Mental Health.

  • Net Ambassadors

    Since 2005, HKFWS has recruited and trained over a hundred youth and parent net ambassadors. By sharing their own experiences, they brought out their message about a healthy internet culture to communities and schools.

  • Internet education lectures and workshops for parents

    Between 2005 and 2007, with financial support from the Education Bureau , HKFWS organized 124 internet education lectures and workshops for parents at primary schools and secondary schools.

  • Organized several talks and workshops

    In 2008, HKFWS began receiving financial support from the Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority and organized several talks and workshops on the healthy use of the internet, reaching over 1,000 parents. The contents of the talks were made into a parent education CD and pamphlet that were distributed to all Hong Kong schools and orgarizations.

  • Organized a large-scale education program “Healthy Internet Connection”

    In 2009, we organized “Healthy Internet Connection,” a large-scale, territory-wide education program that reached over 300 schools and 3,000 students, parents, teachers, and social workers.

  • “Cyber Bullying Among Hong Kong Secondary School Students.”

    In 2010, we published a research report on “Cyber Bullying Among Hong Kong Secondary School Students.”

  • New Projects Start

    Beginning in 2011, we launched the “Healthy Net Support Network” and “WebOrganic” porjects.

  • Report “Cyber Bullying: Interpersonal Relations and Conflicts of Hong Kong Upper Primary School Students and Junior Secondary school Students.”

    In 2013, we published a research report titled “Cyber Bullying: Interpersonal Relations and Conflicts of Hong Kong Upper Primary School Students and Junior Secondary school Students.”

家福會

網絡教育及輔導服務簡介:

香港家庭福利會的網絡教育及輔導服務,主要針對互聯網普及所產生的新問題,如:沉迷上網、網絡欺凌、網絡代溝、不良資訊泛濫及過量使用智能手機等。這些問題不單影響兒童及青少年的精神健康,更對家庭關係造成負面影響。本會本著「以家為本」的理念,以前瞻性的角度,創新的工作手法,靈活地運用各種資源,在不同時段由不同的服務單位推出各項計劃及活動,以回應社會上不同人士的需求,彌補舊有服務的不足。

服務基於實證為本的精神,以研究結果引導服務的方向及介入手法。另外,本計劃透過引進外國的研究,如翻譯美國權威學者Kimberly Young的上網成癮評估問卷,以評估服務使用者沉迷上網的嚴重性。因應不同服務組群的需要,同工設計各種創新及多層次的介入手法,包括教育性、預防性及治療性的活動。為了尋求更專業及更適當的介入方法,我們積極與不同的專業人士(如老師、律師)合作,深入探討網絡問題。此外,我們積極鼓勵服務使用者的參與及過來人作義工,發揮互助精神,從而建立和諧共融的社會。

服務宗旨

1. 培育兒童及青少年建立健康和安全的上網態度和習慣;
2. 減少因上網而引起的親子衝突,促進親子對上網的認識和溝通;
3. 鼓勵不同階層及有特殊需要的人士的參與;
4. 幫助公眾認識網絡危機及倡導健康網絡文化。

服務成立至今除得到服務使用者及合作伙伴的認同,亦得到本地及外地傳媒的報導(如英國傳媒BBC)。我們著重提升社會各界對青少年網絡文化的關注,同時,我們希望倡導社會改變,包括在學校建立健康網絡文化,提倡對網絡欺凌「零容忍」校政、健康使用智能產品等。

為了更進一步發展本土化的網絡教育及輔導服務,我們與本港不同界別作跨專業協作,尋求更專業及有效的介入方法,以回應社會對網絡這個新問題的需要。過去本服務已為本港超過三份一學校及於各區提供服務,受惠人數眾多。

服務發展歷史

  • 服務啟動

    服務始於2004年,旨在預防青少年網絡問題,並縮減數碼世代的親子鴻溝。

  • 「青少年上網對家庭關係及精神健康的影響研究報告」

    本會於2005年發表「青少年上網對家庭關係及精神健康的影響研究報告」。

  • 召募網「樂」大使

    自2005年,本會召募及訓練超過一百名青少年及家長網「樂」大使,藉著透過分享自己的經驗,於社區及學校宣揚健康網絡的訊息。

  • 互聯網教育講座及體驗工作坊

    本會透過教育局的資助,於中、小學舉辦了124場家長互聯網教育講座及體驗工作坊。

  • 互聯網教育講座及體驗工作坊

    2008年起,本會得到影視及娛樂事務管理處的資助,舉行多場健康使用互聯網的講座及工作坊,服務超過1000名家長,並把講座內容製作成家長教育光碟及小冊子,派發到全港學校及地方團體。

  • 開展全港大型教育計劃「健康網『樂』連線」

    於2009年舉辦全港大型教育計劃「健康網『樂』連線」,服務了超過300間學校、3000 名學生、家長、老師及社工。

  • 「香港中學生網絡欺凌現況」研究報告

    於2010年發布關於「香港中學生網絡欺凌現況」研究報告。

  • 開展新計劃

    自2011年起開展「健康上網支援網絡」計劃及「有機上網」計劃。

  • 「香港高小與初中學生人際關係與衝突之網絡欺凌」研究報告

    於2013年發布「香港高小與初中學生人際關係與衝突之網絡欺凌」研究報告。